Industrial Thin Client

Startseite » Industrial PC » Thin Client solutions
UDC

Discover the industrial thin client from FORSIS

The industrial thin client solutions from FORSIS, together with the German market leader IGEL and its UDC3 / OS11 firmware, offer an extensive range of local protocols, tools and software clients.

With the IGEL operating system, the industrial thin client solutions become universally applicable and uniformly remote-administrable end devices that allow access to different IT infrastructures, including Citrix XenApp / XenDesktop, Microsoft Remote Desktop Services (RDS), IBM Mainframe, VMware View and other software enable. A local web browser also serves as an interface to cloud services.

With IGEL thin clients, all settings can be made via the IGEL UMS. Thin client management is based on groups using profiles. Frequent settings can be predefined very easily and assigned to individual FORSIS terminals or entire device groups with just a few clicks. If required, automated firmware updates can be distributed over the network in a time-controlled manner so that they ideally take place during non-production times.

With the use of FORSIS industrial thin client solutions, you spend less time on IT, which in turn means that you have more time to expand your business.

A thin client is a computer or program that performs its tasks with the help of a server. Thin clients are often referred to as cloud clients, zero clients or universal desktops. The opposite of a thin client is a fat or full client that can do tasks itself with its hardware and software. Compared to thin clients, however, these are usually more expensive and complex because they consume too much computing power or energy to solve the tasks at hand.

Basically, the same requirements are placed on a thin client for industrial applications as on an industrial PC. This means that the industrial thin client must be able to adapt to its environmental conditions, such as temperature, vibration, protection, etc. However, less computing power is required, because the industrial thin client only represents the user interface - the data processing is carried out by the server. The inputs are processed on the server or virtualized desktop and the output is sent back to the industrial thin client, which only has to display it.

Are there any restrictions? This question can be answered with no with a clear conscience. Nowadays, users of industrial thin clients no longer have to accept any restrictions. A lot has been improved, especially in the areas of graphics and speed. Only in the area of ​​multi-touch support is there a clear need to catch up.

It should also be noted that not all software manufacturers plan to run their programs on remote servers - here customers must observe the relevant license provisions or plan additional fees for the desired usage scenario. After all, industrial thin clients usually require a permanent network connection to the server.

FORSIS industrial thin clients are available in different versions. The boundaries between a slimmed-down computer and a full-fledged PC are fluid. In addition to stationary industrial PCs, mobile systems are also offered for use on mobile workstations or industrial trucks.

While mobile thin clients are already approaching regular PCs in terms of computing power and storage capacity, systems known as "zero clients" further intensify the concept of thin clients. Instead of a complete operating system, only rudimentary firmware works on these systems, which is specifically geared towards the server platform of a provider.

The great advantage of an industrial thin client is its "easy" operation. Only the software that is necessary for access to centrally provided apps runs on the systems. Accordingly, the individual systems can be installed or changed easily. Meanwhile, an identical application environment is available to users at every workstation. Industrial thin clients dispense with fault-prone moving parts such as fans, HD, and so on, and are therefore less prone to failure. Likewise, only limited computing power is required at the local feedback stations in the production environment, the systems consume less energy than fully equipped industrial PCs and achieve a longer service life.
The FORSIS industrial thin clients also take advantage of these advantages. Here are the advantages at a glance:

  • Security: No risk from viruses (read-only memory) or theft of the industrial PC, as there is no local file storage
  • Simple operation, as only the software that is needed to access centrally operated applications is running
  • Very easy management through central or decentralized control systems
  • Greatly reduced administrative effort
  • Relief of the IT department through standardized remote management. IGEL Universal Management Suite (UMS) is included in the scope of delivery
  • Fast activation and deactivation of applications for the end user leads to a service advantage
  • Possibility for the user to always have the same access to his personal user interface, configuration, directories and installed programs regardless of which thin client workstation he is currently at
  • Faster roll-out thanks to profile-based preconfiguration and automatic configuration when switched on for the first time

Industrial PCs that are used as thin clients have a longer service life due to the low CPU load.

Sales
Our sales team will gladly answer your questions!

Industrial Thin Client - Industrial field

Industrie Thin Client Min Logo

As the name suggests, industrial thin clients come from this very environment. The entire device concept is designed for use under these conditions. You will therefore find all the important information on this in the respective sub-pages of the series.

IMPORTANT! All FORSIS industrial PCs can be used as IGEL OS11 industrial thin clients.

Industry Thin Client - Food and Pharmaceutical Industry

Industrie Thin Client Min Food

All stainless steel computers of the different EXPERT series are also offered as industrial thin clients. Follow the links for details on the technique.

  • EXPERT SBC
    Stainless steel computer with interfaces on the back - available as a single or multi-touch version
  • EXPERT SE
    Stainless steel terminal with interfaces on the underside
  • EXPERT BS
    Stainless steel computer equipped with special binder connector

Industry Thin Client - Logistics industry

Industrie Thin Client

Simple service through joint technology
The computer unit of the industrial terminal is mechanically connected to the display unit by joints. This enables simple and easy servicing, even when the device is installed.

The attachment points of the joints are outside the sealing area. Just loosen four screws and the service can get started if necessary.

 

Stephan Brenner Vertrieb

"We will gladly answer your questions"

+49 (0) 751 76 414 0

IGEL Technology GmbH (intelligent total solution in microelectronics) is a German manufacturer of computer hardware and software that develops and produces thin and zero clients. IGEL is the market leader in Germany in this area.

The IGEL Universal Desktop Converter (UDC3) or OS11 is a Linux-based operating system that has been optimized for thin client applications. The UDC3 is also known as firmware and replaces the existing operating system.

Every computer with IGEL OS can be managed without restrictions using the IGEL Universal Management Suite (UMS). Devices converted with UDC3 / OS11 are managed together with IGEL thin clients with the same configuration profiles.

Of course, this applies to all of our products without exception. All FORSIS industrial PCs can be converted to industrial thin clients with the IGEL tools.

The operating system of the target system is replaced by the installation of the UDC3 / OS11. For security reasons, the UDC3 / OS11 is not installed together with the old operating system and cannot be installed in a dual-boot configuration. However, if the operating system of the target system has to be retained, the UDC3 can also be installed on a bootable USB stick.

The UDC3 firmware is updated four times a year. The updates are not associated with additional costs.

The UDC3 license is based on the MAC address of the target system. During the installation of the UDC3 / OS11, licenses can be installed either manually or using the license management functions of the IGEL Universal Management System. Basically, all of this is done by us. You obtain an industrial thin client from FORSIS that has OS11 preinstalled as the operating system.

IMPORTANT: The license is tied to the industrial motherboard in the industrial thin client. Therefore, in the event of service, it is necessary that we also have to replace the motherboard.

Industrie Thin Client

Startseite » Industrie PC » Thin Client Lösung

Entdecken Sie den Industrie Thin Client von FORSIS

Die Industrie Thin Client Lösungen von FORSIS bieten zusammen mit dem deutschen Marktführer IGEL und dessen UDC3/OS11 Firmware eine umfangreiche Palette an lokalen Protokollen, Tools und Softwareclients.

Die Industrie Thin Client Lösungen werden mit dem IGEL Betriebssystem zu universell einsetzbaren und einheitlich fernadministrierbaren Endgeräten, die den Zugriff auf unterschiedliche IT-Infrastrukturen, darunter Citrix XenApp / XenDesktop, Microsoft Remote Desktop Services (RDS), IBM Mainframe, VMware View und weiteren Softwarelösungen, ermöglichen. Ein lokaler Webbrowser dient zudem als Schnittstelle zu Cloud Diensten.

Bei Thin Clients von IGEL, lassen sich alle Einstellungen über die IGEL UMS vornehmen. Das Thin Client Management erfolgt anhand von Profilen gruppenbasiert. Häufige Einstellungen lassen sich sehr einfach vordefinieren und mit nur wenigen Klicks an einzelne FORSIS Terminals oder ganze Gerätegruppen zuweisen. Automatisierte Firmware-Updates können sich bei Bedarf zeitgesteuert über das Netzwerk verteilen, damit diese idealerweise in der produktionsfreien Zeit erfolgen.

Mit dem Einsatz von FORSIS Industrie Thin Client Lösungen benötigen Sie weniger Zeitaufwand für die IT, was wiederum bedeutet, dass Sie mehr Zeit für den Ausbau Ihrer Geschäfte haben.

Was ist ein Industrie Thin Client? - Gibt es Einschränkungen

Ein Thin Client ist ein Computer oder Programm, das mithilfe eines Servers seine Aufgaben erfüllt. Thin Clients werden oft auch als Cloud Client, Zero Client oder auch Universal Desktop bezeichnet. Das Gegenteil eines Thin Clients ist ein Fat oder auch Full Client, der Aufgaben durch seine Hard- und Software selbst erledigen kann. Diese sind im Vergleich zu Thin Clients jedoch meistens teurer und aufwändiger, da sie zu viel Rechenleistung oder Energie zur Lösung der gestellten Aufgaben verbrauchen. 

An einen Thin Client für industrielle Anwendungen werden im Grund die gleichen Anforderungen wie an einen Industrie PC gestellt. D.h. der Industrie Thin Client muss sich an seine Umgebungsbedingungen, wie z.B. Temperatur, Vibration, Schutz usw. anpassen können. Allerdings wird weniger weniger Rechnerleistung benötigt, denn der Industrie Thin Client stellt lediglich die Benutzerschnittstelle dar - die Datenverarbeitung erfolgt durch den Server. Auf dem Server bzw. virtualisierten Desktop werden die Eingaben verarbeitet und die Ausgabe wird zurück zum Industrie Thin Client geschickt, der diese nur noch anzeigen muss.

Gibt es Einschränkungen? Diese Frage kann guten Gewissens mit Nein beantwortet werden. Nutzer von Industrie Thin Clients müssen heutzutage keine Einschränkungen mehr hinnehmen. Speziell im Bereich Grafik und Geschwindigkeit wurde extrem viel verbessert. Einzig und allein im Bereich von Multitouch Support gibt es eindeutig Nachholbedarf.

Zu beachten ist weiterhin, dass nicht alle Softwarehersteller den Betrieb ihrer Programme auf entfernten Servers vorsehen - hier müssen Kunden die entsprechenden Lizenzbestimmungen beachten respektive zusätzlicher Gebühren für das gewünschte Nutzungsszenario einplanen. Schließlich benötigen Industrie Thin Clients in der Regel eine permanente Netzverbindung zum Server. 

Vorteile von Thin Clients

Industrie Thin Clients von FORSIS sind in verschiedenen Ausprägungen verfügbar. Die Grenzen zwischen abgespecktem Rechner und vollwertigen PC sind dabei fließend. Neben stationären Industrie PCs werden auch mobile Systeme für den Einsatz auf mobilen Arbeitsplätzen oder Flurförderfahrzeugen angeboten. 

Während sich mobile Thin Clients bei Rechenleistung und Speicherkapazität bereits regulären PCs annähern, spitzen als "Zero Clients" bezeichnete Systeme den Gedanken des Thin Clients weiter zu. Statt eines vollständigen Betriebssystems arbeitet auf diesen Systemen nur eine rudimentäre Firmware, die gezielt auf die Server-Plattform eines Anbieters ausgerichtet ist.

Der große Vorteile eines Industrie Thin Clients ist dessen "einfacher" Betrieb. Auf den Systemen läuft lediglich die Software, die für den Zugriff auf zentral bereitgestellte Apps notwendig ist. Dementsprechend komfortabel lassen sich die einzelne Systeme installieren oder Wechseln. Nutzern steht derweil an jedem Arbeitsplatz eine identische Anwendungsumgebung zur Verfügung. Industrie Thin Clients verzichten auf fehleranfällige bewegliche Teile wie Lüfter, HD, und so weiter, und sind deshalb weniger störanfällig. Ebenso ist an den lokalen Rückmeldestationen im Fertigungsumfeld lediglich eine begrenzte Rechenleistung von Nöten, die Systeme verbrauchen weniger Energie als voll ausgestattete Industrie PCs und erreichen eine höhere Lebensdauer. Diese Vorteile machen sich auch die FORSIS Industrie Thin Clients zu Nutze. Anbei die Vorteile auf einen Blick:

  • Sicherheit: Keine Gefahr durch Viren (Read-only Memory) oder Diebstahl der Industrie PC, da keine lokale Dateiablage vorhanden ist
  • Einfacher Betrieb, da nur die Software läuft die für den Zugriff auf zentral betriebene Anwendungen benötigt wird
  • Sehr einfaches Management durch zentrale oder dezentrale Steuerungssysteme
  • Stark reduzierter Verwaltungsaufwand 
  • Entlastung der IT-Abteilung durch einheitliches Remote Management. IGEL Universal Management Suite (UMS) ist im Lieferumfang enthalten
  • Schnelle Zu- und Abschalten von Anwendungen für den Endnutzer führt zum Servicevorteil
  • Möglichkeit für den Benutzer stets den gleichen Zugriff auf seine persönliche Benutzeroberfläche, Konfiguration, Verzeichnisse und installierte Programme zu haben unabhängig davon, an welchem Thin Client Arbeitsplatz er sich gerade befindet
  • Schneller Roll-Out durch profilbasierte Vorkonfiguration und automatische Konfiguration beim ersten Einschalten

Industrie PCs die als Thin Client eingesetzt werden, haben eine längere Lebensdauer durch die geringe CPU-Beanspruchung.

Vertrieb
Unser Vertriebsteam ist gerne persönlich für Sie da!

Industrie Thin Client - Industrie Branche

Industrie Thin Client Min Logo

Wie der Name schon sagt kommen die Industrie Thin Clients genau aus diesem Umfeld. Die gesamte Gerätekonzeption ist auf den Einsatz unter diesen Bedingungen ausgelegt. Alle wichtigen Informationen hierzu finden Sie deshalb in den jeweiligen Baureihen-Unterseiten.

WICHTIG! Alle FORSIS Industrie PCs lassen sich als IGEL OS11 Industrie Thin Clients nutzen.

Industrie Thin Client - Lebensmittel und Pharmazie Branche

Industrie Thin Client Min Food

Alle Edelstahl Computer der unterschiedlichen EXPERT Baureihen werden auch als Industrie Thin Client angeboten. Folgen Sie den jeweiligen Verknüpfungen, um Einzelheiten zu der Technik zu erfahren.

  • EXPERT SBC
    Edelstahl Computer mit Schnittstellen auf der Rückseite - als Single- oder Multitouch Variante erhältlich
  • EXPERT SE
    Edelstahl Terminal mit Schnittstellen auf der Unterseite
  • EXPERT BS
    Edelstahl Computer mit speziellen Binder Stecker ausgestattet

Industrie Thin Client - Branche Logistik

Industrie Thin Client

Einfacher Service durch Gelenktechnik
Die Rechnereinheit des Industrie Terminals ist mit der Anzeigeeinheit mechanisch durch Gelenke verbunden. Dies ermöglicht, auch im montierten Zustand des Gerätes, einen einfachen und leichten Service.

Dabei liegen die Befestigungspunkte der Gelenke außerhalb des Dichtungsbereiches. Das Lösen von vier Schrauben genügt und der Service kann im Bedarfsfall loslegen.

Stephan Brenner Vertrieb

"Wir beantworten gerne Ihre Fragen."

+49 (0) 751 76 414 0

IGEL und die Lösung UDC3 bzw. OS11

IGEL Technology GmbH (Intelligente Gesamtlösung in der Mikroelektronik) ist ein deutscher Hersteller von Computer Hard- und Software, das Thin und Zero Clients entwickelt und produziert. In diesem Bereich ist IGEL Marktführer in Deutschland. 

Der IGEL Universal Desktop Converter (UDC3) bzw. OS11 ist ein Linux-basiertes Betriebssystem, das für Thin Client Anwendungen optimiert wurde. Der UDC3 wird auch als Firmware bezeichnet und ersetzt das vorhandene Betriebssystem.

Jeder Computer mit IGEL OS kann ohne Einschränkungen über die IGEL Universal Management Suite (UMS) verwaltet werden. Mit UDC3 / OS11 konvertierte Geräte werden zusammen mit IGEL Thin Clients mit den gleichen Konfigurationsprofilen verwaltet.

Dies gilt natürlich ausnahmslos für alle Produkte von uns. Sämtliche FORSIS Industrie PC können mit den IGEL Tools zu Industrie Thin Clients gewandelt werden.

Hintergründe zu IGEL UDC3 / OS11 - Sicherheit - Aktualisierung - Lizenz

Das Betriebssystem des Zielsystems wird durch die Installation des UDC3/OS11 ersetzt. Aus Sicherheitsgründen wird der UDC3/OS11 nicht zusammen mit dem alten Betriebssystem installiert und kann auch nicht in einer Dual-Boot-Konfiguration installiert werden. Muss jedoch das Betriebssystem des Zielsystems erhalten bleiben, kann der UDC3 auch auf einem bootfähigen USB-Stick installiert werden.

Eine Aktualisierung der UDC3 Firmware wird viermal pro Jahr vorgenommen. Die Updates sind nicht mit Zusatzkosten verbunden.

Die UDC3 Lizenz basiert auf der MAC-Adresse des Zielsystems. Lizenzen können während der Installation des UDC3/OS11 entweder manuell oder über die Lizenzmanagement-Funktionen des IGEL Universal Management Systems installiert werden. Im Grunde wird dies aber alles von uns erledigt. Sie beziehen einen Industrie Thin Client von FORSIS der bereits vorinstalliert OS11 als Betriebssystem hat.

WICHTIG: Die Lizenz ist auf das industrielle Motherboard im Industrie Thin Client gebunden. Deshalb ist es im Servicefall notwendig, dass wir auch das Motherboard mittauschen müssen.