RFID reader

Startseite » Industrial PC » Solutions » RFID reader
RFID Reader Table Front

RFID readers are suitable for many areas of application, because in many companies there are systems and machines that only specially trained employees are allowed to operate. PLC controls that only the master is allowed to program. Technical rooms or laboratories whose access is restricted to authorized persons.

These and many other authorization cases can now be mapped locally, including subsequent actions - completely independent of higher-level systems.

RFID (Radio Frequency Identification) is a variant of the AutoID. Auto ID is understood to mean automatic identification and data acquisition, also known as automatic identification (Auto-ID). This includes technologies such as barcodes, smart labels, biometrics, OCR, etc.

With RFID technology, a transponder (tag), a reader for reading the transponder information and software with interfaces to IT systems and databases are always required.

The main advantage of RFID lies in the completely contactless transmission of the massively increased amount of information. RFID readers need neither touch nor visual contact and can recognize a large number of transponders at the same time (or in a very short time) (bulk recognition).

Despite the large amount of information, most transponders (depending on the frequency) do not need their own power supply and are often rewritable.

In the case of RFID solutions, we distinguish between two basic functions for data transmission.

Inductive coupling (125KHz to 13.56MHz)
- short reading intervals
- slow data transfer rates
- Problems with iron

Transponder for this area with 125 Khrz
Range: up to 30cm
Good properties in difficult environments
Low data transfer rates
Expensive tags
No anti-collision

Transponder for this range with 13.56 MHz (HF)
Range: up to 150cm
Good properties in difficult environments
Difficulty with metal
Anticollision for 10-40 tags per second

Electromagnetic coupling (400MHz to 6.8GHz)
- large reading distances
- large data transfer rates
- Liquids affect the transmissions

Transponder for this area with 867-869MHz, 902-928MHz (UHF)
Range: up to 3m
Good properties in difficult environments even with metal
High data transfer rate
Anticollision for 50 tags per second
Lots of standards

2.45GHz (passive)
Range: up to 150cm
Bad properties in difficult environments
Goes well with metal
Anticollision for 50 tags per second

In connection with the PANEL PC and industrial computer systems manufactured by FORSIS, however, the focus is on personal data. That means we are moving in the area of ​​inductive coupling of the transponders. The following are examples of possible uses:

  • Access control / time recording
  • Payment / vending
  • Copier / printer
  • Phone
  • Library
  • IT access
  • Local transport ticket
  • Fleet management / refueling

LEGIC Advant

Legic uses the principle of dynamic memory segmentation for this. Up to 127 segments for different applications can be applied to a Legic medium. The reader selects the correct segment dynamically using search strings or statically using the segment number.

The encryption (Legic, DES, 3DES, AES, depending on the transponder type) can be configured individually for each segment.

Key management for readers and ID cards is carried out using master cards (Master-Token System-Control, MTSC). The possession of these cards determines the authorization to create segments and to grant readers access to protected segments.

Legic media do not have a mechanism for central application management. New segments can always be created as long as there is enough free memory available, and segments can be deleted - always assuming the appropriate master card.

The data structure of the MIFARE DESFire transponders is set up by NXP, the manufacturer, as a "flexible file system". Up to 28 applications can be created on a DESFire EV1 tranponder.

Each application is named with a unique application ID, which the reader uses to select “his” application. Up to 32 files can be created within each of these applications; the size of the files can be freely defined.

Depending on their use, the files can be created as standard, backup, value or record files. Up to 14 different keys can be defined for each application. Write and read rights for each file are flexibly linked to this key set. The DES, 3DES and AES algorithms are supported. Central application management has been implemented on Desfire transponders; the issuer can use a card master key and the associated key settings to determine the conditions under which new applications can be created or deleted later.

To create functioning DESFire applications and to configure the readers, knowledge of the keys required is necessary. An exception to this rule are the MIFARE SAM AV2 modules, with the help of which keys are stored in secure hardware (processor chip module) and, for example in SIM card format, can be integrated into additional slots in the card reader - a clear plus in security that however, it is bought at the cost of increased effort.

RFID reader with USB or serial interface

Especially in cases in which "normal PCs or thin clients" are used in addition to FORSIS industrial PCs, it is necessary to equip these devices with an RFID reader, if possible the same.

The advantages are the exact same reading process and the identical interface connection. This also includes the standardized data feed into the application at all acquisition stations, as well as the homogeneous RFID technology and, last but not least, the flexible attachment of the reader, because it can be used as a table, wall or mounting variant (landscape format).

RFID reader via LAN or WLAN as an alternative to USB

As an alternative to the USB reader, it is also possible to run the RFID reader as a network-compatible reader via LAN or WLAN. Instead of the direct assignment of the reader to the data acquisition device, the reader communicates as a terminal device via TCP / IP and can send transactions to any IP address, which then enable a release or other actions.

Local plausibility check and approval as another option

With both reader versions, the next development step was that the reader is able to decide about simple things himself. So far, the plausibility check has always been carried out by higher-level systems. Ultimately, the job of an RFID reader is always the ID number. capture and then pass it on for review. However, if he carries out the check himself by comparing it with locally stored ID data, a reaction can be made immediately. Start of a transaction and / or local control.

Input and output signals

The FORSIS RFID reader is equipped with two digital outputs for direct actions and two digital inputs for checking the execution or monitoring.

With the help of simple software, ID numbers can be transmitted to the reader, which remain stored in the reader. Certain attributes can be assigned to these ID cards, such as digital out 1, 2, transaction and much more.

Sales
Our sales team will gladly answer your questions!
RFID Reader Food

RFID reader with USB or serial interface

Especially in cases in which "normal PCs" or "thin clients" are used in addition to FORSIS industrial PCs, it is necessary to equip these devices with an RFID reader, if possible the same.
The advantages are:

  • The exact same reading process and the identical interface connection
  • Thus, the standardized data feed into the application at all recording stations
  • The homogeneous RFID techniques
  • The flexible attachment of the reader, because it can be used as a table, wall or mounting variant (landscape format)
RFID Reader Front

RFID reader via LAN or WLAN

As an alternative to USB, it is also possible to run the RFID reader as a network-compatible reader via LAN or WLAN. Instead of the direct assignment of the reader to the data acquisition device, the reader communicates as a terminal device via TCP / IP and can send transactions to any IP address, which then enable approval or other actions.

Edelstahl Terminal Rfid Min

Local plausibility check and approval

With both reader versions, the next development step was that the reader is able to decide about simple things himself. So far, the plausibility check has always been carried out by higher-level systems. Ultimately, the job of an RFID reader is always the ID number. capture and then pass it on for review. However, if he carries out the check himself by comparing it with locally stored ID data, a reaction can be made immediately. This initiates the start of a transaction and / or local control.

Panel PC Resistiv Rfid Min

Input and output signals

The FORSIS RFID reader is equipped with two digital outputs for direct actions and two digital inputs for checking the execution or monitoring.
With the help of simple software, ID numbers can be transmitted to the reader, which remain stored in the reader. Certain attributes can be assigned to these ID cards, such as digital out 1, 2, transaction, etc.

FORSIS GF MC

"We will gladly answer your questions."

+49 (0) 751 76 414 0

RFID Leser

RFID Reader Table Front

RFID Leser sind für viele Einsatzgebiete geeignet, denn in vielen Unternehmen gibt es Anlagen und Maschinen, die nur speziell geschulte Mitarbeiter bedienen dürfen. SPS-Steuerungen, die nur der Meister programmieren darf. Technikräume oder Labore, deren Zutritt berechtigten Personen vorbehalten ist.

Diese und viele weitere Autorisierungsfälle lassen sich nun inklusive nachfolgender Aktionen lokal abbilden – völlig unabhängig von übergeordneten Systemen.

RFID (Radio Frequency Identification) ist eine Variante der AutoID. Wobei man unter Auto ID wiederum die Automatische Identifikation und Datenerfassung versteht, auch Automatische Identifizierung (Auto-ID) genannt. Darunter fallen Techniken wie Barcode, Smart Label, Biometrie, OCR usw.

Bei der RFID Technik wird immer ein Transponder (Tag), ein Lesegerät zum Lesen der Transponderinformation und eine Software mit Schnittstellen zu EDV-Systemen und Datenbanken benötigt.

Der Hauptvorteil von RFID liegt in der komplett kontaktlosen Übertragung der massiv erhöhten Informationsmenge. RFID Lesegeräte brauchen weder Berührungs- noch Sichtkontakt und können eine Vielzahl von Transpondern gleichzeitig (beziehungsweise in sehr kurzer Zeit) erkennen (Bulk Erkennung).

Trotz der hohen Informationsmenge benötigen die meisten Transponder (je nach Frequenz) keine eigene Energieversorgung und sind oft Wiederbeschreibbar.

Bei RFID Lösungen unterscheiden wir zwei grundsätzliche Funktionsweise zur Datenübermittlung.

Induktive Kopplung (125KHz bis 13.56MHz)
- kurze Leseabstände
- langsame Datenübertragungsraten
- Probleme bei Eisen

Transponder für diesen Bereich mit 125 Khrz
Reichweite: bis zu 30cm
Gute Eigenschaften in schwierigen Umgebungen
Niedrige Datenübertragungsraten
Teure Tags
Kein Anticollision

Transponder für diesen Bereich mit 13,56 MHz (HF)
Reichweite: bis zu 150cm
Gute Eigenschaften in schwierigen Umgebungen
Schwierigkeiten mit Metall
Anticollision für 10-40 Tags pro Sekunde

Elektromagnetische Kopplung (400MHz bis 6.8GHz)
- große Leseabstände
- gro
ße Datenübertragungsraten
- Flüssigkeiten beeinträchtigen die Übertragungen

Transponder für diesen Bereich mit 867-869MHz, 902-928MHz (UHF)
Reichweite: bis zu 3m
Gute Eigenschaften in schwierigen Umgebungen auch bei Metall
Hohe Datenübertragungsrate
Anticollision für 50 Tags pro Sekunde
Viele Standards

2.45GHz (passiv)
Reichweite: bis zu 150cm
Schlechte Eigenschaften in schwierigen Umgebungen
Geht gut mit Metall
Anticollision für 50 Tags pro Sekunde

Im Zusammenhang mit den FORSIS hergestellten PANEL PC und Industrie Rechnersystemen stehen allerdings die personenbezogenen Daten im Vordergrund. Das heißt wir bewegen uns im Bereich der induktiven Kopplung der Transponder. Nachfolgend Beispiele für mögliche Nutzungen:

  •  Zutrittskontrolle / Zeiterfassung
  • Payment / Vending
  • Kopierer / Drucker
  • Telefon
  • Bibliothek
  • IT-Zugang
  • Nahverkehrsticket
  • Fuhrparkmanagement / Tanken

LEGIC Advant

Legic nutzt dafür das Prinzip der dynamischen Speichersegmentierung. Auf einem Legic-Medium können bis zu 127 Segmente für unterschiedliche Anwendungen aufgebracht werden. Die Auswahl des richtigen Segments durch den Leser erfolgt dynamisch durch Suchstrings oder statisch über die Segmentnummer.

Die Verschlüsselung (Legic, DES, 3DES, AES, je nach Transpondertyp) kann für jedes Segment individuell konfiguriert werden.

Schlüsselverwaltung für Leser und Ausweise wird mittels Masterkarten vorgenommen (Master-Token System-Control, MTSC). Der Besitz dieser Karten entscheidet über die Berechtigung, Segmente anzulegen sowie Lesern den Zugriff auf geschützte Segmente zu gewähren.

Legic-Medien haben keinen Mechanismus zum zentralen Anwendungsmanagement. Neue Segmente können immer angelegt werden, solange genügend freier Speicher vorhanden ist, und Segmente können gelöscht werden – immer die passende Masterkarte vorausgesetzt.

 

Die Datenstruktur der MIFARE DESFire-Transponder wird von NXP, dem Hersteller, als „flexibles Filesystem“ aufgebaut. Auf einem Tranponder DESFire EV1 können bis zu 28 Applikationen angelegt werden.

Jede Applikation wird mit einer eindeutigen Applikations-ID benannt, über die der Leser „seine“ Applikation selektiert. Innerhalb dieser Applikationen lassen sich jeweils bis zu 32 Files anlegen, die Größe der Files kann frei definiert werden.

Die Files können entsprechend ihrer Nutzung unterschiedlich als Standard-, Backup-, Value- oder Record-Files angelegt werden. Pro Applikation können bis zu 14 unterschiedliche Schlüssel definiert werden, Schreib- und Leserechte für jedes File werden flexibel mit diesem Schlüsselsatz verknüpft. Die Algorithmen DES, 3DES und AES werden unterstützt. Auf Desfire-Transpondern wurde ein zentrales Anwendungsmanagement implementiert, der Herausgeber kann mittels eines Kartenmasterkeys und der damit verbundenen Keysettings bestimmen, unter welchen Voraussetzungen später neue Applikationen erstellt oder gelöscht werden können.

Für das Erstellen funktionierender DESFire-Applikationen und die Konfiguration der Leser ist das Wissen der benötigten Schlüssel notwendig. Eine Ausnahme von dieser Regel sind die MIFARE SAM AV2 – Module, mit deren Hilfe Schlüssel in sicherer Hardware (Prozessorchipmodul) gespeichert werden und, zum Beispiel im SIM-Kartenformat, in zusätzliche Steckplätze der Kartenleser integriert werden können – ein deutliches Plus an Sicherheit, das jedoch durch einen erhöhten Aufwand erkauft wird.

RFID Reader mit USB- oder serieller Schnittstelle

Speziell in Fällen, in denen neben FORSIS Industrie PCs auch „normale PCs bzw. Thin Clients“ eingesetzt werden, ist es notwendig diese Geräte mit einem, wenn möglich gleichen RFID Leser auszustatten.


Die Vorteile sind dabei d
as exakt gleiche Leseverfahren und die identische Schnittstellen Anbindung. Somit auch die vereinheitlichte Datenzuführung in die Applikation bei allen Erfassungsstationen, sowie die homogene RFID Techniken und zuguterletzt die flexible Befestigung des Lesers, denn er kann als Tisch-, Wand- oder Montagevariante (Querformat) eingesetzt werden.

RFID Reader via LAN oder WLAN als Alternative zu USB

Als Alternative zum USB Reader ist es auch möglich, den RFID Reader via LAN oder WLAN als netzwerkfähiger Leser auszuführen. Anstelle der direkten Zuordnung des Leser zum Datenerfassungsgerät, kommuniziert der Leser als Endgerät via TCP/IP und kann an beliebige IP Adressen Transaktionen schicken, die zur Folge eine Freigabe oder sonstige Aktionen ermöglichen.

Lokale Plausibilitätsprüfung und Freigabe als eine weitere Option

Bei beiden Leservarianten war der nächste Entwicklungsschritt, dass der Leser selber in der Lage ist über einfache Dinge zu entscheiden. Bisher wurde die Plausibilitätsprüfung immer durch übergeordnete Systeme realisiert. Letztlich ist die Aufgabe eines RFID Lesers immer die Ausweis-Nr. erfassen und dann die Weitergabe zur Prüfung. Führt er jedoch die Prüfung selbst durch, indem er einen Abgleich mit lokal gespeicherten Ausweisdaten vornehmen kann, kann auch sofort eine Reaktion erfolgen. Start einer Transaktion und/oder lokale Steuerung.

Ein- und Ausgangssignale

Der FORSIS RFID Reader ist ausgestattet mit zwei digitalen Ausgängen für direkte Aktionen und zwei digitale Eingänge zur Überprüfung der Ausführung oder Überwachung.

Mit Hilfe einer einfachen Software können dem Leser Ausweisnummern übermittelt werden, welche im Leser gespeichert bleiben. Diesen Ausweisen können bestimmte Attribute mit gegeben werden, wie z.B. Digital Out 1, 2, Transaktion und vieles mehr.

Vertrieb
Unser Vertriebsteam ist gerne persönlich für Sie da!
RFID Reader Food

RFID Leser mit USB- oder serieller Schnittstelle

Speziell in Fällen, in denen neben FORSIS Industrie PCs auch "normale PCs" bzw. "Thin Clients" eingesetzt werden, ist es notwendig diese Geräte mit einem, wenn möglich gleichen RFID Leser auszustatten.
Die Vorteile sind dabei:

  • Das exakt gleiche Leseverfahren und die identische Schnittstellen Anbindung
  • Somit die vereinheitlichte Datenzuführung in die Applikation bei allen Erfassungsstationen
  • Die homogene RFID Techniken
  • Die flexible Befestigung des Leser, denn er kann als Tisch-, Wand- oder Montagevariante (Querformat) eingesetzt werden
RFID Reader Front

RFID Reader via LAN oder WLAN

Als Alternative zu USB ist es auch möglich, den RFID Reader via LAN oder WLAN als netzwerkfähiger Leser auszuführen. Anstelle der direkten Zuordnung des Leser zum Datenerfassungsgerät, kommuniziert der Leser als Endgerät via TCP/IP und kann an beliebige IP Adressen Transaktionen schicken, die zur Folge eine Freigabe oder sonstige Aktionen ermöglichen.

Edelstahl Terminal Rfid Min

Lokale Plausibilitätsprüfung und Freigabe

Bei beiden Leservarianten war der nächste Entwicklungsschritt, dass der Leser selber in der Lage ist über einfache Dinge zu entscheiden. Bisher wurde die Plausibilitätsprüfung immer durch übergeordnete Systeme realisiert. Letztlich ist die Aufgabe eines RFID Lesers immer die Ausweis-Nr. erfassen und dann die Weitergabe zur Prüfung. Führt er jedoch die Prüfung selbst durch, indem er einen Abgleich mit lokal gespeicherten Ausweisdaten vornehmen kann, kann auch sofort eine Reaktion erfolgen. Damit wird der Start einer Transaktion und/oder lokale Steuerung iniitiert.

 

Panel PC Resistiv Rfid Min

Ein- und Ausgangssignale

Der FORSIS RFID Reader ist ausgestattet mit zwei digitalen Ausgängen für direkte Aktionen und zwei digitale Eingänge zur Überprüfung der Ausführung oder Überwachung.
Mit Hilfe einer einfachen Software können dem Leser Ausweisnummern übermittelt werden, welche im Leser gespeichert bleiben. Diesen Ausweisen können bestimmte Attribute mitgegeben werden, wie z.B. Digital Out 1, 2, Transaktion usw.

FORSIS GF MC

"Wir beantworten gerne Ihre Fragen."

+49 (0) 751 76 414 0